Skip to content

Accreditation & Recognition

We provide guidance for those applying for the Accreditation Standard or Recognised Status.


The Museum Accreditation Scheme is the UK industry standard for museums and galleries.

To achieve Accreditation, a museum must meet published requirements on:

  • how it is governed and managed
  • how it cares for and manages its collections
  • the information and services it offers to museum users

Museum Accreditation Scheme paused in response to COVID-19 outbreak

Museums Galleries Scotland, and our UK Accreditation partners, Arts Council England, the Welsh Government, and Northern Ireland Museums Council, recognise that many museums are closing their sites due to the impact of Covid-19 and in response to Government advice.

In order to support the sector during these unprecedented times all Accredited museums in the UK will have their current award status extended for an additional 12 months.

Due to the volume of applications received to our Covid-19 response funds, and with Accreditation on hold until April 2021, we are prioritising assessment of grants over responding to Accreditation queries until December 2020. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may cause.

Visit our FAQs for further details

Read about the Accreditation Scheme


Scotland’s Recognition Scheme celebrates, promotes and invests in nationally significant collections beyond those held in our national museums and galleries.

Recognised Collections can access:

  • Recognition Fund awards of up to £60,000
  • branded assets and marketing tools
  • reviews and guidance from our specialists
Read about the Recognition Scheme